Friday, March 16, 2012

A Loud Minority: Deep Spiritual Jazz From Mainstream Records 1970 -1973

01. Frank Foster - The Loud Minority
02. Blue Mitchell - Mi Hermano 
03. Harold Land - Up & Down 
04. Hadley Caliman - Watercress 
05. Buddy Terry - Kamili 
06. Harold Land - Ode To Angela 
07. Roy Haynes - Senyah 
08. Charles McPherson - Charisma 
09. Mike Longo - Matrix 
10. Johnny Coles - Petits Machins 
11. Frank Foster - EW Beautiful People 
12. Hadley Caliman - Little One

Sunday, February 12, 2012

Jim Pepper - Comin' And Goin' (1984)

Of the limited discography offered to us by Jim Pepper, this is his finest contemporary recording, done with the pianist Kenny Werner's trio and several special guests, including John Scofield and Don Cherry. A fine representation of this Native American's work especially as a collaborator, check out the vibrant "Lakota Song," the title track, and especially "Malinyea" in tandem with pocket trumpeter Don Cherry. A reflection of his time in Woodstock at the Creative Music Studio, Pepper creates world jazz fusion with a twist relating to his heritage, something that perhaps nobody else has done, or is capable of. Of course his magnum opus "Witchi-Tai-To" is included in this inspired and inspirational set, which is highly recommended.

01 Witchi-Tai-To
02 Ya Na Ho
03 Squaw Song
04 Goin' Down to Muskogee
05 Comin' and Goin'
06 Lakota Song
07 Water
08 Custer Gets It
09 Malinyea

Monday, January 2, 2012

Concerning Dead Links and Re-ups....

many of the rapidshare links are going down, because i don't have an account with them anymore. if any of you would like me to re-up anything, just leave me a comment, and i'll try to get to it ASAP!