Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Alice Coltrane - Transfiguration

Alice Coltrane has lived in the shadow of both her husband and his classic quartet pianist, McCoy Tyner, but she put out some interesting, often religious-based work on Impulse and Warner Bros. in the '60s and '70s. Recorded live in 1978, Transfiguration turned out to be her final album. Here she set aside arrangements of religious chants and returned to the jazz trio format with the formidable combination of drummer Roy Haynes and bassist Reggie Workman. Coltrane's organ and piano work is filled with uniquely turbulent and swirling arpeggios that are the center of attention almost throughout. Originally a double LP, this 83-minute, double-disc effort includes six originals as well as a 36-minute cover of John Coltrane's late-period monster "Leo," which features fine solos from all three players. Issued on CD and remastered for the first time, Transfiguration should help modern audiences revise their opinion on Alice Coltrane's often-overlooked legacy as a jazz player of substance.

Disc: 1
1. Transfiguration
2. Spoken Introduction/One For The Father
3. Prema
4. Affinity

Disc: 2
1. Krishnaya
2. Leo, Part One
3. Leo, Part Two

1 comment:

marram62 said...